A nice cup of tea. And a biscuit.

My work has always been about memory, history, nostalgia. About family. About places, and how we are connected to them. About conversations, and stories, and little stolen snatches of narrative. About being British, connected to the South Coast, about an identity that’s nothing to do with the Daily Mail or the BNP, but everything to do with a culture that’s always changing, shifting.

So here’s what I want to do. I want to meet some British people and have a cup of tea and a biscuit with them. It’ll take, what, twenty minutes of their time? It won’t be recorded, or photographed, as all I want is the memory, the story to tell.

I need to find a way to meet the people I want to meet now. It’s a quest. I think Twitter can do it for me, and probably take me sideways to meet a few other interesting people along the way as well.

I want a cup of tea and biscuit with

  • Jeremy Deller
  • Prince Charles
  • Kate Rusby
  • Peter Blake
  • Alan Bennett
  • John Major
  • Jarvis Cocker
  • Stephen Fry
  • Judi Dench
  • Banksy
  • Gilbert & George
  • Tony Benn
  • Emma Thompson
  • John Prescott
  • Billy Bragg
  • Tony Robinson
  • Phill Jupitus
  • Len Deighton
  • Michael Caine
  • Dawn French
  • Benjamin Zephaniah
  • Shanaze Read
  • Iain Banks
  • Mark Thomas
  • Sharmi Chakrabarti
  • Caroline Lucas
  • The Queen

Can you introduce me, please?

One thought on “A nice cup of tea. And a biscuit.

  1. You art work is amazing, I also love the fact that you are an writer as well. I love to see this.
    ALSO I do love your “tea and biscuit” idea, its nice to see an artist who is down to earth.
    Sorry if this makes me sound like a die hard fan. I just like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

